Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
    Left The Driveway
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Replacing usb port advice?

We have a 2017 imagine 29rl. I use a cpap and need a 12v power source for when we are without hook-ups. We thought about replacing the usb ports next to the bed with a 12v cig lighter power source (I have no tech knowledge in this area). Any advice?

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

Left The Driveway
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am pretty sure the USB port is 12 volt so it is just a matter of removing the USB port and replacing it with the 12 volt auto connector. Only 2 wires to cut and splice into.

Rolling Along
    Now-Oct 2018: Prince William Forest Park, NPS, Triangle VA
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My understanding is that USB port outputs are 5V. However, they probably run a 12V line to the socket, and have a converter circuit to produce 5V. Use a voltmeter to check for sure.

Dave

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk
    2015 Reflection 337RLS, #931, Built 6/14, Purchased New 1/15
    2015 Silverado 3500HD LTZ SRW CC, 8' Bed, 4WD, Z71, Duramax/Allison
    11,600 GVW, 3,739 Payload, 16.1 mpg for first 21,000 miles
    Reese Elite 18K Hitch with underbed rails
    Amateur Radio KQ3T (ex-WN8PXF, WA8PXF, N3CKQ)
    Felines: Butter (Abyssinian), Cinnamon (Burmese, R.I.P.), and Harry (Orange Tiger Cat, Rescued from Sutton Lake CG, WV)
    2018: Visitor Center Volunteer at Prince William Forest Park, Triangle VA, June thru October
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

King Pin
    Blog Entries
    Mentioned
    41 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    My USB port failed last week and I'm replacing it. It is indeed wired into 12V and has a transformer that converts the USB voltage to 5V. I'm going with this one so that I have both 1.0A and 2.1A USB current at 5V, and 12V plug in sockets.

https://www.amazon.com/Tonsiki-Motor...2v+usb+adapter

Jim

Left The Driveway