Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Zymology

Seasoned Camper
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Zymology

Zymology, also known as zymurgy (from the Greek: ζύμωσις+ἔργον, "the workings of fermentation") is an applied science which studies the biochemical process of fermentation and its practical uses. Common topics include the selection of fermenting yeast and bacteria species and their use in brewing, wine making, fermenting milk, and the making of other fermented foods. I refer to myself as a zymurgist; I'm a home brewer. I started brewing extract recipes in 2005 and quickly converted to the all-grain method. I've brewed every style of beer except Belgian's. I just can't seem to acquire a taste for that style.
    I also enjoy woodworking and shooting handguns... both of which are incompatible with partaking in the "fruits" of home brewing.

King Pin
    Blog Entries
    Mentioned
    41 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I received a "kit" for home brewing one year for Christmas. It was sure interesting to learn the process. And the IPA was some of the best I've tasted. I only made one batch, but I learned a lot.

Jim

Blog Entries
    Mentioned
    30 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thought about it, thought about growing a garden also. In the end it was just cheaper to go buy it.
    Dallas
    2017 Momentum 376TH, 2019 Ford F450, Dual Rear Wheel, 4x4, diesel.
    2015 Harley-Davidson Street, XG750

Seasoned Camper
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)