Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

5th Wheel Hitch/Unhitch Question

Please note I have a Ford F250 with 6.5 Ft bed and we are thinking about purchasing Grand Design Reflection 295RL.
    I am new to 5th wheel so I hope I am asking this right.
    My driveway is not leveled with the street and about 2 feet higher and slops up to the house. To hitch and unhitch does 5th wheel need to be level?
    My other concern is in order to back into my driveway, I have to make a sharp turn that essentially places the truck and tow vehicle at a 130° angle. Can I hitch/unhitch at this angle , or do I have to be reasonably straight?
    Last edited by Papahoosh; 10-16-2018 at 11:44 AM.

Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Uploaded a photo.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	RV.jpg 
Views:	174 
Size:	91.1 KB 
ID:	15685

Big Traveler
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Two areas of concern. The front of the trailer will be higher than the rear and will probably require cribbing under the landing gear to get the trailer level. Hard to visualize but driveway may be too steep.The second concern is keeping the trailer on the slope as it has no parking brake so really good tire chocks would be necessary. You should back in from the other direction from what you indicate in your picture to avoid the very tight turn. You can hitch/unhitch at an angle if you have a 5th wheel tailgate. Stock tailgate will contact the trailer when trying to hitch at an angle.
    Jim & Georgianne
    N. California
    2016 Reflection 29RS
    2008 Ford F-250 Super Duty PSD
    B&W Companion hitch
    Rubber turtle with no name

Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)