User Tag List

Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Use washer water supply outlets as location for a water pressure gauge?

@Cate&Rob Rob, I kidded you a while back about installing a water pressure gauge in the bedroom of your trailer since it seemed like you'd installed one in every other part of the trailer.

Turns out, I'm interested in doing that myself.

I purchased PEX piping, fittings, gauges and tools to follow your lead in improving plumbing in our Solitude, especially installing water pressure gauges so I know what's coming into the trailer. (Our trailer has had poor tap pressure on city water - noticeably weaker than our Reflection did - in all of places we've camped.)

I purchased all that stuff about three months ago, and have so far not damaged any of it with use. I am a skilled engineer of procrastination.

Our Solitude is plumbed for a washer. The pressure gauges I bought would just screw onto one of the fittings in the washer/dryer closet. I'm guessing that I could get pressure readings there that would indicate the pressure reaching taps elsewhere. I'm guessing that I'd have to run water through the washer line to eliminate air from it before installing the pressure gauge there.

Am I wrong about my guesses? Am I missing any negatives? Thanks.
    Last edited by boyscout; 01-29-2019 at 07:48 AM.
    Mark - 2018 Solitude 310GK - 2017 F-350 diesel SRW short box - Pullrite Superglide hitch

Mentioned
    190 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A lot of people confuse "pressure" with "flow rate." You can have very high pressure and restricted flow (think coronary artery stenosis in someone with hypertension...). Since you've experienced low flow rates at different locations, I would suspect a stricture somewhere. Monitoring pressure won't tell you anything if there's actually a flow restriction, instead.

Rob
    U.S. Army Retired
    2012 F350 DRW CC LB Lariat PS 6.7
    2020 Solitude 310GK-R, MORryde IS, disc brakes,