User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Mentioned
    49 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Post Blue Ox WDH--An Alternative Method to Connect the Bars

The regulars here know of my dislike for how the Blue Ox bars connect (and disconnect). For those that haven't read my specific complaint and want to know more, check out post #5 in this linked thread. That thread was not my first (or last) rant--here is a thread from when I was a newbie on the topic.

I've been on a mission to find an alternative to the standard method of connecting (and disconnecting) my 2,000 lb-rated Blue Ox bars. I even went and looked at a Pro Pride setup to see if I could incorporate their bar system into the Blue Ox. (If you're curious, here is the thread on the conversation. BL--I decided against it.)

So that brings us to today. What I am going to show you is how I install (and remove) the Blue Ox bars using my PowerBuilt jack. I have experimented with this process for many weeks (using my truck's 4 ton jack) but refrained from posting because the round top of the truck's jack made the lift of the bars precarious. With my (new) PowerBuilt jack I now feel it is safe enough to post for others to see what I am doing. (But if you try this it is at your own risk!)

First--note the truck is not setup for a tow. The pictures and videos here are just for demonstration and practice.

Here's the starting point.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Start.jpg 
Views:	26 
Size:	91.7 KB 
ID:	17528

To install the first bar I had to use the tongue jack for about 15-18 seconds lifting the truck. The jack was under load but it wasn't straining excessively when I stopped. I went just high enough to put the jack under the bar.

Name:	Mid Point.jpg 
Views:	24 
Size:	92.8 KB 
ID:	17529

Note how the bar is cradled by the PowerBuilt's u-shaped lift arm.

Name:	cradle.jpg 
Views:	20 
Size:	96.8 KB 
ID:	17530