User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

installed new inverter, GFCI trips in my house

I am not an electrician. I replaced the original WFCO inverter with a new WFCO one. The other internally failed when I broke the remote cord in the basement. It is a hard-wired model designed to run the refrigerator. I hooked up the wires, white to white, black to black, and green to the copper wire. I used push-in connectors from Lowe's, rated to 600 volts. They all passed a "tug" test...all are secure. Is there any way that my wiring job could cause the GFCI to trip in my house? When I run the inverter in battery only mode, it works great. When I apply AC power and energize the refrigerator circuit breaker to turn it on, which would put the inverter in AC bypass mode, the GFCI will trip in my house where I have my trailer extension cord plugged in. This happens more than half the time when I apply AC power. The other half of the time, it bypasses fine and runs the refrigerator on AC power.
    My portable generator, as well as the onboard generator, run the refrigerator fine on AC power as designed.
    WFCO support was blaming this on my GFCI outlet. However, I moved the extension cord to another circuit in my house, and it would happen again. I asked if it could be an internal problem with the inverter. They said "no", and that there is no danger in using the inverter in this currrent situation.
    thanks for any input.
    RobM
    RobM
    2017 Chevy Silverado 3500 L5P, Transfer Flow 35 Gal Aux Fuel Tank, Pace Edwards Full Metal JackRabbit Tonneau Cover
    2018 Solitude 310-GKR, Curt Q-20 puck system hitch, TST TPMS 507, Titan discs

Long Hauler
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rob

What is the outlet you are plugging into , 50 amp or do you have an adaptor to a small 110v plug?

Brian

Mentioned
    49 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by RobM View Post