User Tag List

Left The Driveway
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Newbie looking for battery advice - Help!

Picked up our new Imagine 2970RL a little over a week ago! We're excited, but worried we may have already destroyed the batteries. I've been reading everything I could find here about batteries, but I'm still confused - a lot of the discussions are too technical for me - definitely a complete newbie! Ready to learn, but was hoping not to have to learn some of this so soon

Any help will be very much appreciated!

Here's the deal:

There was one battery on the travel trailer when we looked at it last fall. The sales guy had to plug into a golf cart to get stuff working. Didn't pay attention at the time, but having read up on batteries now I'm wondering if that was a problem since apparently the battery had been run down enough to not be able to power things. They took the battery off for the winter and stored the trailer there. We had them put on a second battery, which we're also realizing may have been a mistake now since they weren't both put on at the same time (may be different age batteries). We picked it up and towed it to the storage lot. No shore power available. We put the slides out twice and used the tongue jack, but otherwise no real use. Unfortunately, we also forgot to turn the battery disconnect thingy. A week later, we went back and no power - everything is dead. Oh yeah, we're also in Minnesota and just had a mid-April blizzard, meaning things unexpectedly dropped below freezing.

It looks like the dealer put in 2 Deka DP24 dual purpose 12 volt marine batteries. (Dealer also said there was no maintenance, but from what I can tell they need us to keep water levels up or something).

So, we're now trying to figure out where to go from here.