Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Fireside Member
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

New member - looking to purchase 2400BH

Hi all,

I've been eyeballing this forum for the last 6 months and learned a lot.
    But, I'm still confused by different opinions. Some say WD helps take off weight stress from the tongue, some say it has nothing to do with it.

Our TV is 2015 GL450 (7,500 towing capacity, 650 tongue weight limit, and 1764 max payload, wheelbase 121'), but its capacity is not big enough to tow mid-to-large size TTs.
    We love the floor plan of 2400BH which has 28ft length, UVW 5,595lbs, GVW 7,495lbs and 505lbs dry hitch weight. I saw another member towing this TT with Porsche Cayenne which has a very similar specs to my TV.

Considering the TT's GVW, it's near the max capacity of my TV, however I don't think I will load anything more than 1000lbs in TT.
    Therefore, I expect the TT's weight will be around 6,500lbs. (battery+gas tank 200lbs, camping gears 200lbs, food and all other stuffs 200lbs, fresh water 200lbs, no gray/black water..total about 800lbs) That's leave us about 8.6% margin and I don't think it will exceed the my TV's max payload either (myself, my wife, 2 kids = 390lbs, gas 210lbs, tongue weight 650 lbs, other stuffs 200lbs..total 1450lbs)

There isn't huge room left, but it is still within the capacity range in all areas.
    I will probably consider hitch reinforcement and good WD for a peace of mind.

Any of you towing 2400BH or similar TT with SUVs? Any opinions would be appreciated.
    Last edited by tomilee; 04-18-2019 at 12:46 PM.

Big Traveler
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)