User Tag List

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Overmatched Truck???

We have a 2017 350M being towed by a Short Bed 4x4 2017 Ram 2500 with the larger diesel w/ air suspension.
    Reading this forum has frightened me as to the prospect of putting my BMW motorcycle in the garage and hauling it around the country. I'm going to sound kind of stupid because I'm really new at this but we have the largest Pullright slider hitch offered. Am I way out of bounds? We have put roughly 2000 miles without incident or difficulty.

Site Sponsor
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Take a look at your owners manual and see what the rating is for pulling a trailer and how much weight it can carry. That will probably tell you that you have a safety issue, but check to be sure.
    Gary

2017 Solitude 374TH-R
    2015 Chevy Silverado 3500 Dually
    2010 Honda NT700V
    2014 Sherco

Site Sponsor
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well you'll be over by a significant amount on your payload (pin weight). The yellow sticker in your drivers door will tell you what that number is but i'll bet its around 2100/2200lbs and your unit is probably close to 3000lbs empty. also you need to add for passengers and gear in the truck.

2500's are limited due to the 10000 cap before you jump a weight class. Depending on who you want to believe they are mostly a derated (on paper) 3500. Up to you if you want to worry about it. I will stay out of that debate (and it will come). I would for sure make sure the tires have a weight rating to cover what your actually carrying.

Good news is adding the bike to the garage will help with the pin weight. Overall weight I will bet your fine.
    Last edited by JKellerJr; 05-16-2019 at 04:04 PM.
    2021 Solitude 375 RES-R
    2024 GMC Denali ultimate DRW

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)