Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
    Setting Up Camp
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Hitch shank and receiver mounting question

I’m new to weight distribution hitches. There are two points on the shank where they can be secured to the receiver on the tow vehicle. I’ve literally watched and read 5-8 hitch set up instructions or videos, including the one I own. No one tells you if it is better for the hitch and ball to be closer to the tow vehicle, or further away.

I would imagine some vehicles have less room for the shank, and can only one mounting position. I can use either, just don’t know if one is better than the other either for the tow vehicle or for the effective hitch weight. It would seem that the further back the ball is from the tow vehicle, there would be more leverage and more tongue weight?

Knowledge is appreciated, i’ve learned a great deal already!

Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Davidsofia View Post
    I’m new to weight distribution hitches. There are two points on the shank where they can be secured to the receiver on the tow vehicle. I’ve literally watched and read 5-8 hitch set up instructions or videos, including the one I own. No one tells you if it is better for the hitch and ball to be closer to the tow vehicle, or further away.

I would imagine some vehicles have less room for the shank, and can only one mounting position. I can use either, just don’t know if one is better than the other either for the tow vehicle or for the effective hitch weight. It would seem that the further back the ball is from the tow vehicle, there would be more leverage and more tongue weight?

Put the hitch as close to the receiver/vehicle as possible. Closer will provide more stability.

Rob
    Rob & Barb
    2022 Solitude 378MBS
    2022 RAM 3500 SRW HO Aisin 4x4
    Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)