User Tag List

Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re-pack bearings necessary?

Hello All,

I have a 2022 341RDS fifth wheel, and it is time to grease my bearings.

I have seen that I may need to completely pull out and repack my bearings (which seems like a cumbersome process). I have also heard I do NOT need to completely re-pack by bearings, but instead simply pull the wheel, and grease gun through the grease zerk.

Could you please advise me on the proper maintenance for this, and what the risks/benefits of each method might be? I am still relatively new to the RV space and am trying to figure this all out as I go!

Many thanks in advance, and if this has been answered elsewhere, i apologize for the repetitive question.

KF

Site Sponsor
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by MountainMover View Post
    Hello All,

I have seen that I may need to completely pull out and repack my bearings (which seems like a cumbersome process). I have also heard I do NOT need to completely re-pack by bearings, but instead simply pull the wheel, and grease gun through the grease zerk.

Could you please advise me on the proper maintenance for this, and what the risks/benefits of each method might be? I am still relatively new to the RV space and am trying to figure this all out as I go!

Many thanks in advance, and if this has been answered elsewhere, i apologize for the repetitive question.

KF
    If you use the grease zerk then you run the chance of blowing the seal and you also can't inspect them.

I pull the bearings, completely clean out the old grease and repack with synthetic grease. That way I get an eye on the bearing to make sure everything is working well
    2021 Solitude 375 RES-R
    2024 GMC Denali ultimate DRW

Long Hauler
    Mentioned
    62 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)